RevsNet

From the halls of Foxboro Stadium…

Nicol: Success Defined as Making the Playoffs

Posted by Mike Marshall on December 14, 2009

I’m actually surprised my head didn’t explode while reading Kyle McCarthy’s vomit-inducing year-end Revs wrapup article on MLSnet.com.  I still may have an issue with my blood pressure… we’ll see.

The cherry on top of the Hot Crap Sundae is this gem from the suddenly way too comfortable Steve Nicol:

“The fact that we made the playoffs made it a successful year, but we’re still gutted that we didn’t get further,” Nicol said.

If that doesn’t sum up the entire organization from top to bottom, then I don’t know what does.  Here’s the guy who’s basically in charge of the soccer operation telling the whole world that if they’re the eighth best team in a 15-team league, that’s pretty much good enough.  I mean, Jesus, what more could you ask for?

And spare me the talk about how the Regular Season is meaningless.

Fortunately, just when you’re about to lose hope in the organization, there’s always Burnsie to overstate the completely friggin’ obvious:

“It’s always easy to say, but it’s hard to do,” Revolution vice president of player personnel Michael Burns said. “Taylor missed all of the year and we don’t know the status on him. Steve Ralston missed a chunk of the year. If he’s back next year, he’ll miss another chunk of the year. I think it goes without saying that if you look at our team, we need some attacking players.”

Gee, when do you think he came to that conclusion?

And by the way, “we don’t know the status” on Taylor Twellman?  Are you bleepin’ kidding me?  A year and a half after the original injury, and you still don’t know what’s going on with your best player?  Maybe time to try some new doctors?

I swear to God… I’ll be a miracle if I don’t suffer a massive coronary before the offseason is over.

Leave a Reply

 
